Teesside International Poetry Festival

14-17 April 2016


Who's who?  Click on each poet's photograph to discover more...


PLEASE NOTE: Links will not open in a new window.  Click 'back' if you wish to return to our website.


T-junction 2016

Teesside’s second international poetry festival took place in Middlesbrough from 14-17 April 2016 and it was a resounding success.  The T-junction committee would like to extend their thanks to everybody who performed, participated, attended, worked and volunteered at this year's festival.


Supported by the Arts Council and Middlesbrough Borough Council, T-junction brought together over a dozen poets of local, regional, national and international reputation in a four-day festival of readings, performances, master-classes, debates and book-launches.


Among the poets who took part in 2016 were Tony Harrison, Helianne Kallio (Finland), Shazea Quraishi (Pakistan), Karlis Verdins (Latvia), Goran Simic (Bosnia), Wajid Hussain (Pakistan), JK Ihalainen (Finland), George Szirtes, Jackie Litherland, Mark Robinson, Joelle Taylor, Steve Ely, Graham Clifford and Julie Egdell. The festival also included book launches by Julie Hogg, Mike Pratt, Bob Beagrie and Andy Willoughby, the publication of a big anthology marking twenty-five years of Darlington’s Vane Women collective and an Urdu-Punjabi musha’ara.  Sadly, Jean 'Binta' Breeze who had been booked to perform, was not able to attend due to illness.


Scroll down to discover who appeared at the festival and links to their work.


View the 2016 T-junction Programme here 9780993149061 9780993149054 Julie's-cover-5e Cover-25-Jan-16 Jean Binta Breeze Julie Egdell Goran Simic (2) Rahat Zahid george szirtes Julie Hogg (1) Andy Willoughby Bob Beagrie Joelle Taylor Wajid Hussein Farzana Khan Naina Farooq Ahmed Karlis Verdins Steve Ely Basir Sultan Kazmi Jackie Litherland Shazea Quraishi Dr Mukhtaruddin Ahmed Tony Harrison Graham Clifford Ghazal Ansari